Utilities: CPW

96 CPW (Commission of Public Works)

Contact information:  (864) 543-2900;  Fax:  (864) 543-4304;  On-Call Cell: (864) 980-5703

The Ninety Six Commission of Public Works has been serving the Ninety Six area since the early 1900’s.  Working closely with the Town of Ninety Six, the Commission has owned operated and maintained an array of utilities including electric, water and wastewater systems.  The Commission has been responsible for numerous amenities used by the town and its residents.  Among these has been the installation of streetlights for convenience and safety and one of the areas first fluoride systems for public water.

Currently the Ninety Six Commission of Public Works owns, operates and maintains nearly 40 miles of gravity sewer and force main sewer lines.  These lines make their way through a combination of 13 pump stations to one of two treatment plants that have a combined permit of nearly 600,000 gallons per day.  Also owned and maintained are nearly 45 miles of waterlines and 220 fire hydrants that provide water for approximately 1500 accounts.

The Commission consists of three publicly elected Commissioners that serve six year terms.  Each year the Commission nominates and appoints a Chairman to oversee the business of the Commission.

Service Map:

rips map2



William Hawkins Jr.:  Mr. William Hawkins, Jr is the current CPW Chairman. his service began in January 2010.  Since Mr. Hawkins has been a member of the Commission, there have been many improvements made to the water and sewer systems owned, operated and maintained by the Ninety Six CPW. William is a lifelong member of the Ninety Six community. He and his wife have town daughters. William is employed by the Greenwood Commission of Public Works.

Bruce Werts:


Dwight Herring: 

Systems Manager-Greg McFarland: Greg has been the systems Manger of the Ninety six commission of Public works since 2012. He has been employed with Ninety six Commission of Public Works since 2005. Greg has been a lifelong member of the Ninety six community. Greg and his wife Deedee,  have on daughter.

Office Administrator- Leah Anne Riddle: Leah Anne has been the Office Administrator for the Ninety Six Commission of Public Works since 2013. She has been employed with the CPW since 2011. She has been a lifelong member of the Ninety Six community. She and her husband Matt, have one daughter.

Past Commissioners:

William Dick Harter

Jay Reynolds

M.M. Moseley

D. E. Cowan

John Drummond

H.D. Forrest

Reynolds Griffin

J.G. McNeill

Donald Dowis

Bill Gardner

Roy Smith

Raymond McNeil

D.D. Wilkes

Ray Berry

Eugene Boyd

Temple Lamar


Past Supervisors/System Managers:  W.B. Jeter

R. E. Wingard

Earl Harrison

George Williams

Robert Gary

Rickey Werts

Tony Williamson

Tony Black

Copyright ©2024 Etron Solutions All Rights Reserved. | Website Maintained by Etron Solutions | Sitemap